E-MRS Fall Meeting 2009

September 14-18, Warsaw Poland

Symposium C

Wide band gap II-VI and III-V semiconductors



Symposium C will cover the most important developments in the booming field of the basic and applied research of wide band gap II-VI and III-V semiconductors. The main emphasis will be given to the recent progress in growth methods and understanding of material properties, which allow wide spread applications of wide band gap semiconductors based on group-III nitrides and ZnO in a new generation of electronic and optoelectronic devices.


High scientific interest continues also in another application of wide band gap semiconductors, such as ZnO and GaN. These materials, when doped with transition metal ions, often show ferromagnetic response. During the Symposium the recent developments in this hot topic will also be discussed.


Symposium will cover the following topics:

  • GaN for short and long wavelength LD applications (far UV and green LDs)
  • GaN for electronic applications and biological sensors
  • GaN-based LEDs for white light sources
  • Perspectives of spintronics based on wide band gap compounds
  • Low temperature ZnO for electronic applications
  • Growth techniques of wide band gap oxides and material characterization
  • II-VI-based wide band gap semiconductors for optoelectronic and spintronics applicationsProgramme

List of invited speakers with tentative titles:

  • Dr. T. Aschenbrenner, University of Bremen, Germany - Highly ordered self-organized nitride-based micropillars grown cathalyst-free 
  • Dr. R. Butte, Institute of Quantum Electronics and Photonics, Ecole Politechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland -  Polariton Lasing in GaN/AlGaN MQW Cavity 
  • Prof. E. Calleja, Departamento de Ingeniería Electrónica and ISOM, ETSI Telecomunicación, Universidad Politécnica, 28040 Madrid, Spain  - Nitride based Nanostructures 
  • Dr. J-M. Chauveau, Centre de Recherche sur l'HeteroEpitaxie et ses Applications (CRHEA) in Valbonne, France - Elaboration and physical properties of a-plane ZnO layers and nonpolar quantum wells
  • Dr. E. Guziewicz, Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland – ZnO grown at low temperature by ALD for electronic applications
  • Doc. A. Hoffmann, TU Berlin, Germany - Spectroscopy of transition metal ion doped ZnO, GaN
  • Dr. R. Kudrawiec, Technical University of Wrocław, Poland - Application of modulated spectroscopies to nitride structures
  • Prof. M. Leszczyński, Institute of High Pressure Physics Unipress, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland – Nitrides lasers after BluRay
  • Prof. Y. Nanishi, Department of Photonics at Ritsumeikan University, Kyoto, Japan - Current status of GaN-based electronics
  • Dr. W. Pacuski, Institute of Experimental Physics, Warsaw University / University of Bremen, Germany -  New concepts and developments in ZnTe-based microcavities
  • Prof. M. Phillips, UTS, Sydney, Australia – CL characterization of ZnO nanoparticles
  • Dr. M. Tchernycheva, Institut d'Electronique Fondamentale (IEF), Orsay, France - Inter-subband optics at 1.55 micrometers in GaN-based nanostructures - Physics and applications
  • Prof. A. Waag, Institute of Semiconductor Technology, Braunschweig University, Germany – Nitrides vs ZnO for applications
  • Prof. T. Wojtowicz, Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland - Quantum wires based on wide band gap II-VI compounds



Proceedings of the Symposium C will be published in physica status solidi. Invited and Contributed Articles will be published in the journal pss (c) - current topics in solid state physics after positive peer-review. Part of the papers may be assigned as Feature Articles or Original Papers to pss (a) - applications and materials science or pss (b) - basic solid state physics following a strict double peer-review process.

Guidelines for Authors:    ( )

Please note that manuscript length in up tp 4 pages (poster and oral contributions) and up to 6 pages (invited oral contributions).


OrganisersProf Marek Godlewski - chairman

Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland

02-668 Warsaw, Al. Lotników 32/46

Tel: +48 22 843 68 61

Fax: +48 22 847 52 23

E-mail: godlew@ifpan.edu.pl


Prof Detlef Hommel – co-chairman

Institute of Solid State Physics, Bremen University, Germany

Otto-Hahn-Allee NW1, 28359 Bremen

Tel: +49-421-218-2950

Fax: +49-421-218-4581

E-mail: hommel@ifp.uni-bremen.de


Dr Pierre Lefebvre, HDR – co-chairman
Directeur de Recherche - CNRS
Groupe d'Etude des Semiconducteurs
Universite Montpellier II - Case Courrier 074.
F-34095 Montpellier CEDEX 5. FRANCE.
Tel : +33 (0)4 67 14 37 56
Fax : +33 (0)4 67 14 37 60
E-mail : lefebvre@ges.univ-montp2.fr


Prof. Piotr Perlin – co-chairman

Institute of High Pressure Physics UNIPRESS,

Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland

ul. Sokolowska 29/37; 01-142 Warszawa, Poland

Phone number: +48 22 876 03 12

Fax number: +4822 8760314

E-mail: piotr@unipress.waw.pl



Dr. Adam Zakrzewski – secretary


Address for Correspondence


Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland

02-668 Warsaw, Al. Lotników 32/46

Tel: +48 22 843 68 61

Fax: +48 22 847 52 23

E-mail: emrs09sympc@ifpan.edu.pl